11th February 2015 | IGT Challenge Tour

Ashley off to a fast start at Centurion

Cent10-12FebDay1 (100)(Photo – David Ashley; credit CJ du Plooy)

PRETORIA, 10 February 2015 – Ockie Strydom has done so well at Centurion Country Club, the Kempton Park golfer should consider buying some real estate there.
Barely two months after he claimed his fourth IGT Tour title in 2014 in the Race to Q-School, the Sunshine Tour player is in the driver’s seat again after opening with a sizzling eight-under-par 64.
However, amateur David Ashley matched his target to share pole positon in the season-opening event on the IGT Tour’s Summer Swing.
While Strydom is looking to get the rust off ahead of the Dimension Data Pro-Am qualifier at Fancourt next week, Ashley is chasing a maiden win on the country’s premier development Tour.
The former Saunton golfer, who is back in South Africa after four years in England, enrolled at the GFG Academy and is coached by PGA professional Andre Louw.
Strydom notched eight birdies and an eagle to offset bogeys at the eighth and 10th, while Ashley showed his hand when he answered Strydom with seven birdies and an eagle in the opening round.
The leaders won’t be sleeping two easy on their two shot cushion, though.
There are a few heavy weights in the bus at six under, including Lion of Africa Cape Town Open champion Jaco Ahlers, seasoned campaigner Divan van den Heever, five-time IGT Tour winner Zander Lombard, Q-School winner Hennie du Plessis and Sunshine Tour regulars Steven Ferreira and Anthony Michael.
Louis de Jager, an IGT Tour winner last season and a three-time champion on the Sunshine Tour, threatens just three strokes off the pace. The Pretoria pro tied for ninth with Allan Versfeld, Conway Kunneke and Michael Palmer.

64 – David Ashley (AMA), Ockert Strydom
66 – Divan van den Heever, Zander Lombard, Jaco Ahlers, Anthony Michael, Steven Ferreira, Hennie Du Plessis
67 – Allan Versfeld, Louis De Jager, Conway Kunneke, Michael Palmer
68 – CJ du Plessis, Coert Groenewald, Lean Boezaart, Christiaan Pretorius, Jacques Kruyswijk, Patrick Newcomb USA, Justin Levy NED
69 – Glen de Waal NAM, Tertius van den Berg, Reynhard Reynecke (AMA), Brett Liddle, Tyron Roelofsz, Hilton Hughes (AMA)
70 – TJ Bekker, Arno Bartholoma GER, Mark Fraser, Adrian Ford, Juan Swart, Russel Franz, Philip Geerts ITA (AMA), Simon Kruger (AMA), Jacques Blaauw, JC Ritchie
71 – Bartjie De Klerk (AMA), CJ Levey (AMA), Neil Cheetham ENG, Cameron Nesmith (AMA), Dayne Moore ZAM, Gideon Pienaar, Eric Nel (AMA), Tyrone Ryan
72 – Wynand Dingle, Bryn Flanagan, Thanda Mavundla, Michael Kok (AMA), Mike Downes ENG, Phillip Kruse (AMA), Herman Minnie, Ruan Huysamen NAM, Edoardo Torrieri ITA, Tiaan Diederiks, Christopher van der Merwe (AMA)
73 – Eddie Taylor, Dylan O’Leary, Stephan De Beer, Kyle Jervis (AMA), Otto van Greunen, Francois Coetzee, Carlos Arroyo (AMA), Jacques de Villiers, Ryan Wingrove (AMA)
74 – Matthew Adams (AMA), Louis Taylor (AMA), Henry Featherstone ENG, Ryan Tipping, Peetie van der Merwe (AMA), Louis Calitz, Stephan Erasmus (AMA)
75 – Duan Nagel (AMA), Albert Venter (AMA), NJ Arnoldi (AMA), Peter Wilson ENG, Rhoan Gardiner, Niel Meyer, Tung- nan Lin TWN (AMA)
76 – Lourens Du Plessis, Kyle Beattie (AMA), Derryn Mitri (AMA), Coert Cronje (AMA), Jaco Prinsloo, Murray Smit, Sam Botham ENG, Chris Erasmus
77 – Waldi Potgieter (AMA), Teboho Sefatsa, Jason Ackerman (AMA), Dougie Meijer, Rudolph van de Venter, Ramon Rigney
78 – Dwayne Coetzee, Pedro August, Matthew Vogel, Tommie Brits (AMA), Jandre Fullard (AMA), Tyron Mc Comb, Rikus Oosthuizen AM)
79 – Keanan Aysen (AMA), Michael Petersen (AMA), Alwyn Vorster, PG Van der Linde, Toto Thimba Jnr, Theo Sherman (AMA)
80 – Michael Armstrong (AMA), Brian Nell (AMA), Michael Jooste (AMA), Wayne Stroebel, Brandon Lydon (AMA)
81 – Andrew Lamont (AMA)
82 – Paul Cuningham, Brendan Britten, Cole Dodgen (AMA), Owen Grobler
83 – Joubert Van Eeden (AMA), Marna De Langen, Anthony Tramontino
85 – Clayton Ackermann (AMA), Marais Visagie, Wianco Cronje (AMA), Juan De Bruin (AMA)
86 – Devan Payne (AMA), Drickus Coetzer (AMA)
90 – David Marks (AMA)
91 – Frans Faber (AMA)
92 – Sean Graham (AMA)
93 – Melchior Raath (AMA), Gustav Erasmus
95 – Kyle Bennett

Latest IGT Challenge Tour News