2nd March 2014 | IGT Challenge Tour

IGT Tour raises stakes with IGT Race to the Car swing

IGT Mercedes 2014JOHANNESBURG, 2 March 2014 – Just three tournaments into the 2014 season and the IGT Pro Challenge Tour has upped the ante once again with the introduction of three Race to the Car Swings for South Africa’s aspiring professionals.

The three vehicles on offer were donated to the country’s premier development Tour by a steadfast supporter and the first car – a demo-model Mercedes C200 with leather interiors and a sunroof – will be go on offer in a three-tournament swing that kicks off with the fourth 2014 IGT Series at Wingate Park Country Club on Monday.

“We were offered the Mercedes, a Mini Cooper and a Seat Ibiza as incentives for our players,” explained IGT Tour commissioner, Cois du Plooy.

“Our season this year is split into four “Race To” segments, with each segment comprising of nine consecutive tournaments followed by a short break. The first segment is the 2014 IGT Series, and will be followed by the Race to the USA, the Race to Mauritius and the Race to Q-School.

“We decided to put the vehicles up for grabs in three mini-races within the segments to raise the stakes and give our players an added incentive in each segment.”

The professionals will be required to play at least three of four events to qualify for the first Race to the Car Order of Merit.

“The players will earn points in each event depending on their results and only top 60 professionals on an independent Race to the Car money list will qualify to contest the final at the IGT Series Elements in April,” said Du Plooy.

The IGT Series Wingate has drawn more than 130 entrants, including nearly 100 professionals that will launch the Race to the Car swing.

“The Mercedes has definitely drawn a lot of interest,” Du Plooy said. “We are extremely thankful to have sponsors and supporters who share our vision of golf development and who help us grow the IGT Tour for our aspirant professionals.”

Antonio Rosado from Portugal who claimed the third IGT Series Krugersdorp last week will lead the field dotted with a host of 2013 IGT Tour champions, including Herman Minnie, Eddie Taylor, Jaco Prinsloo, Romano Saincic, Coert Groenewald, Gideon Pienaar, JC Ritchie and Lean Boezaart.

Top SA amateur Zander Lombard – a three-time IGT Tour winner last season – will lead the 42-man strong amateur entry.

Latest IGT Challenge Tour News