24th March 2014 | IGT Challenge Tour

Langeveld shares lead at IGT Silver Lakes

Langeveld shares lead at IGT Silver Lakes

Langeveld shares lead at IGT Silver Lakes

Photo – Juan Langeveld; credit CJ du Plooy

PRETORIA, 24 March 2014 – Juan Langeveld put on a master class from tee to green on his way to an opening five-under-par 67 at the IGT Series Silver Lakes on Monday.

The Western Cape pro notched six birdies against a lone drop on a glorious day at the Silver Lakes Country Club to tie Korea’s Hyun Park for the lead.

Langeveld wielded his driver only twice in his loops around the 7,264 meter layout, preferring to go with four- and five-irons off the tee.

“The rough was absolutely brutal,” the 31-year-old Rondebosch golfer said.

“It was like a US Open set-up. If you wavered offline and missed the fairway, you were looking to reload. Actually, after playing rough like this, I doubt if I’ll ever want to tee it up in a US Open.”

Langeveld’s putter was on-song, too, and served up birdies at the third, seventh, ninth, 11th, 16th and 18th.

“The putter really cooperated out there,” he said. “Every time I gave myself a chance for birdie, I made the putt. It’s great when a round comes together this way.”

Meanwhile Park crammed birdies at the second, third, seventh, 10th, 14th and 15th and an eagle at the par-four fifth between a bogey at the first and a double bogey the 17th.

Tokkie van den Berg carded a flawless 68 to slip into third, ahead of Gideon Pienaar, who dropped just one shot on his way to an opening 69.

Sunshine Tour winner Louis de Jager and Roberto Lupini, a four-time IGT Tour winner, share fifth on two-under-par 70 with Louis Calitz, Ted Hendriks and Wynand Dingle.


67 – Juan Langeveld, Hyun Park KOR

68 – Tertius Van Den Berg

69 – Gideon Pienaar

70 – Louis Calitz, Ted Hendriks, Wynand Dingle, Louis De Jager, Roberto Lupini

71 – Andrew Light, Otto van Greunen, Mike Maile, Lean Boezaart

72 – Cilliers Naude, Ryan Tipping, Duane Keun, Brett Liddle, Danie Pretorius, Fouche Botha (AMA), Reghard Neethling (AMA)

73 – Will Mathews, Neil Cheetham, CJ du Plessis, Paul De Beer

74 – Brandon Taylor, Shaun Norris, Bryandrew Roelofsz, Dwayne Coetzee, Frans Strydom, Leon Scheepers (AMA)

75 – Jacques Prinsloo, Jonathan Waschefort, Toto Thimba Jnr

76 – Wayne du Toit, Herman Minnie, Arthur Horne, Ruan Huysamen, Pieter Van der Linde (AMA)

77 – Maritz Wessels, MJ Viljoen, Teagan Moore (AMA), Werner Van Niekerk, Pieter Kruger

78 – Matthew Vogel, Rourke Van der Spuy, Calvin Caldeira (AMA), Allan Versfeld, Jacqui Akers (AMA), Johan Smit (AMA)

79 – Romano Saincic, David Lamprecht (AMA), Ockert Strydom

80 – Robert Herselman (AMA), Anton Steenkamp (AMA), TJ Bekker

81 – Conway Kunneke, Ruwan Combrink, Carlos Arroyo (AMA), David Riddle, Johan de Beer, Christiaan Pretorius

83 – Stephan De Beer (AMA)

86 – Jerry Steyn

88 – Julian de Wet (AMA)

RTD – Etzard Grimbeek (AMA)

Latest IGT Challenge Tour News