10th November 2015 | IGT Challenge Tour

Mc Comb marches clear at Wingate Park

Wingate9-11NovDay1 (89)(Photo – Tyron Mc Comb; credit CJ du Plooy)

TSHWANE, 9 November 2015 – Fourways golfer Tyron Mc Comb birdied his three of his last four holes at Wingate Park Country Club to race to a one shot lead in the IGT Tour’s Race to Q-School #6, presented by CA Academy, on Monday.

The 24-year-old Dainfern professional stumbled out of the blocks with a bogey, but reversed the damage immediately with an eagle at the par-three second. Birdies at seven, 15, 16 and 18 saw him set the clubhouse target at five-under-par 67.

Four-time IGT Tour winner Bryandrew Roelofsze opened with a 68, while Bryn Flanagan – another multiple IGT Tour winner – finished a further two strokes back in a tie for third with fellow pros Deon Bredenkamp and Jacques de Villiers, and amateurs Ivanna Samu, Michael Kok and Matt Bright.

McComb won a Race to Asian Q-School event and one of the Race to Q-School series tournaments on the IGT Tour last year, but this season, he split his time between the country’s premier development Tour and the Professional Golf Tour of India.

“The IGT Tour were going to send the seven Race to Asian Q-School players to the First Stage of the Asian Tour Q-School,” Mc Comb said.

“They decided to scrap the Q-School and rather offer us financial assistance to explore options that would offer us longer development opportunities that just the one event.

“I was after gaining some international experience. I wanted to learn what it takes to travel on your own and to cope with tough conditions and foreign circumstances and the Professional Golf Tour of India definitely delivered on all fronts.

“The standard is quite high, with the leading score after the first rounds always around the 10 under mark. Unfortunately I struggled with my swing for most of the season and I found the grainy greens particularly tough.

“I did make two cuts, though, which gave me some confidence and I also gained confidence when I competed in an Asian Tour event.”

Mc Comb arrived back on South African soil a week ago and the familiar greens at Dainfern quickly sorted out his lack of form.

“As soon as I started putting on the greens at my home course, the putting stroke was back,” he said.

“When you putt well, it feeds through to the rest of your game. I am striking the ball as good as always, and the putter is coming along nicely.

“The game felt really good out there, even if the set-up was pretty tough and I’m looking forward to see what I can produce over the next two rounds.”


All competitors RSA unless otherwise specified; amateurs indicated as (ama)

67 – Tyron Mc Comb

68 – Bryandrew Roelofsz

69 – Deon Bredenkamp, Bryn Flanagan, Michael Kok (ama), Ivanna Samu (ama), Jacques de Villiers, Matt Bright (ama)

70 – Hilton Hughes (ama), NJ Arnoldi, Pieter Kruger, Terence Boardman, Siphiwe Siphayi, Jonathan Waschefort

71 – Dean O’Riley, Leon Vorster (ama), TJ Bekker, Rosswell Sinclair (ama)

72 – Gareth Atkinson (ama), David Ashley ENG, Wicus Bezuidenhout (ama), Armandt Scholtz (ama), Carrie Park (ama), Divan Marais (ama), Gerard Du Plooy

73 – Herman Minnie, Ryan Ciapparelli, Jaco Mouton, Andrew Carlsson (ama), Brendan Britten NAM, Ruan Conradie (ama)

74 – Matthew Adams (ama), Bartjie de Klerk (ama), Lourens du Plessis, Jason Ackerman (ama), Matthew Vogel, Stef Visage

75 – Dwayne Coetzee, Shane Heckler (ama), Tommie Brits (ama), Duan Nagel (ama), Jason Diab, Conway Kunneke, Damian Naicker, Mikhail Tewary, Tom Watson (ama), Armand Azar (ama), Wayne Stroebel, Michelle Leigh, Joubert van Eeden, Melissa Eaton, Christiaan Jonck

76 – Michael Armstrong (ama), Philip Geerts (ama) ITA, Bryce McCabe, Ruan Korb (ama), Stephan Erasmus (ama), Jason Rossiter (ama), Rae Mackie, Keanan Aysen (ama)

77 – Shaun van Tonder, Peetie van der Merwe (ama), Jannie Botha, Morne Wolmarans, Gideon Pienaar, Danie Pretorius

78 – CJ Levey (ama), Wayne du Toit, Clinton Cheia, Ruan Potgieter (ama), Rudolph van de Venter (ama)

79 – Ryan Wingrove (ama)

80 – Pieter Cooper (ama), Reynhard Reynecke (ama), David Lamprecht

82 – Crystal Cooper (ama), Wian Verster, Phillip Montgomery, Tung-nan Lin (ama) TWN, Tijana Kraljevic, Alana van Greuning, Fouche Botha (ama)

83 – JC Van Dommelen

Latest IGT Challenge Tour News