25th November 2013 | IGT Challenge Tour


(Photo – Jerry Steyn; credit CJ du Plooy)Jerry Steyn

PRETORIA, 25 November 2013 – In 2009, major surgery to repair ligament damage to his right shoulder prevented Jerry Steyn to try for a Sunshine Tour card.

Having completed his PGA Teaching Professional Diploma at the end of last year, the Lydenburg golfer was ready to try again but fate intervened again. Steyn missed a step, tumbled down some stairs, put his left shoulder out of action and has spent the last 11 months campaigning on the IGT Challenge Pro Tour, waiting for the Qualifying School to roll around again.

Since September, Steyn has been playing the 12-event IGT Race to Q-School series to prepare and ending in a tie for lead in the 10th event at Centurion Country Club on Monday, has gone a long way to boost the 22-year-old’s confidence for professional golf’s most gruelling test.

Steyn dropped just one shot on his way to an opening six-under-par 66 to set the clubhouse target and he was joined by veteran IGT Tour campaigner Pieter Kruger, who also returned a one-bogey card.

Meanwhile South Africa’s top ranked amateur Christiaan Bezuidenhout stayed in touch with a 67, and was joined by fellow amateur Teaghan Gauche and two-time IGT Race to Q-School winner, Robbie Lupini.

Steyn completed his PGA diploma at The Golf School of Excellence but moved to the Graeme Frances Academy earlier this year. He said his short game has dramatically improved, and with the improvement, his confidence is picking up, too.

Steyn collected two birdies on the front nine and a bogey at the 10th was a distant memory after a string of four birdies from the third hole and another at the ninth.

“I left some putts out there, but I’m really happy with the result,” said Steyn. “I was expecting to shoot this kind of score and, although I left a couple of putts out there, I am glad I used my opportunities well. If I can shoot two more rounds in the sixties, I’d be a happy man.”

Other players in the chasing pack include amateurs Theodor Oosthuizen and Andi Dill on 69 and IGT Race to Q-School winner Zander Lombard on 71.

Professional Iliska Verwey and amateur Jacqui Akers are in the pack at 75, while Nedbank SA Disabled Golf Open champion Daniel Slabbert opened with a 77.


All competitors RSA unless otherwise indicated; amateurs = AMA

66 – Pieter Kruger, Jerry Steyn

67 – Teaghan Gauche AMA, Christiaan Bezuidenhout AMA, Roberto Lupini

69 – Theodor Oosthuizen AMA, Rae Mackie, Andi Dill AMA, Eric Nel AMA, Jacques Prinsloo

70 – Aubrey Barnard, Hyun Park

71 – Lean Boezaart, Zander Lombard AMA, Sam Botham, Lukas Steyn AMA, Herman Minnie

72 – JC van Dommelen, Graeme Vrugtman AMA, Eddie Taylor AMA, Ted Hendriks, Frans Strydom

73 – Matthew Vogel, Mike Quinn, Conway Kunneke AMA, Gideon Pienaar, Jaco Mouton, Hans Jonck, Alwyn Vorster

74 – Deon Bredenkamp, Dougie Meijer, Dongkwan Kim, Keegan Steyn AMA, Danie Pretorius, Sarel Van der Walt, Brendan De Lange

75 – Matthew Adams AMA, JC Ritchie, Jacques de Villiers, Iliska Verwey, Wayne Stroebel, Jaco Prinsloo, Jacqui Akers AMA

76 – Kerwin Marais, Jonathan Waschefort, Coert Groenewald, Jaryd Wagner, Tyron Mc Comb, James Searson, Brendon Mossop AMA, Johan Smit AMA, Rob Menzies, Dean Geyer, Anton Steenkamp AMA, Pierre Viviers, Mike Maile, Michael Schutz AMA

77 – Otto van Greunen, Jongikyaya Jika, Robert Herselman AMA, Clinton Cheia AMA, Daniel Slabbert AMA, Cilliers Naude

78 – Ryan Gosling, Ruan Bornman AMA, Wayne du Toit, Bonita Bredenhann, Marius Beukes, Michael Kok AMA, Leon De Lange AMA, Eugene van Loggerenberg, Bryandrew Roelofsz, Niel Meyer AMA, Michael Armstrong AMA, Christiaan Pretorius

79 – Calvin Caldeira AMA, Mike Slabber, Julian de Wet AMA, Mark Fairbank AMA, JP Du Randt AMA, Wesley Baptiste AMA, Pieter Van der Linde AMA, Henriette Frylinck

80 – Romano Saincic, Jeandre Fourie, Shaun van Tonder, Mark Bright

81 – Leon Knoll AMA, David Lamprecht AMA

82 – Tijana Kraljevic, Gareth Akers AMA, Nic Stawski, Rhoan Gardiner

83 – Dino Capazario AMA, Ronak Malde AMA

84 – Rudi Armstrong AMA, Victor Kau

85 – Matt Bright AMA

86 – Morne Wolmarans AMA

88 – Dwayne Coetzee

Latest IGT Challenge Tour News