11th November 2014 | IGT Challenge Tour

Waschefort blasts to Race to Q-School lead

Wandrs11-13NovDay1 (91)(Photo – Jonathan Waschefort; credit CJ du Plooy)

JOHANNESBURG (11 October 2014) – Rookie Jonathan Waschefort exploited a birdie blitz start to seize the lead in the opening round of the IGT Tour’s sixth Race to Q-School at Wanderers Golf Club on Tuesday.

The 24-year-old Pretoria player enjoyed an explosive start with four straight birdies and collected two more birdies to take pole position on five-under-par 66.

He leads by two from playing partner, Armand Scholtz, and fellow amateur, Matthew Spacey.

Another amateur pair – Breyten Meyer from Southern Cape and Gauteng North’s Ross Sinclair – tied for fourth on 69, while Calvin Caldeira, Matthew Kent, Coert Groenewald are a further shot adrift alongside Limpopo amateur, Hennie du Plessis.

A regular IGT Tour campaigner, Waschefort was struggling for consistency earlier this season and took six weeks off in August and September to work intensively on his swing with coach Doug Wood from Wanna Be A Champion.

In his first event back on the country’s premier development Tour, the Pretoria pro roared into contention in the second round of the first Race to Q-School and finished third at Koro Creek.

Waschefort was delighted to be in a challenging position again.

“The last three months has been all about polishing my game for the Sunshine Tour’s Qualifying School, and it is exciting to see the results,” he said.

“When I saw the weather this morning, I would have taken a 66 and gone home. It could have been even better, though, because I missed a six-footer for birdie at the fifth.

“It started pouring when we reached the turn, and the putter went ice cold. I bogeyed the 10th after hitting it into the trees on the left and I had a couple of three-putts in the last five holes. On the positive side, though, I only missed two greens and I hit the ball really solidly.”

Waschefort missed the cut-off at the Sunshine Tour’s Qualifying School in January, but qualified for a Big Easy card. “We only had six events, but I kept competitive on the IGT Tour and I’m really positive going back to Q-School this time.”

Scholtz drained an eagle putt at the par-five first and countered a bogey at the second and double bogey at the 11th with birdies at the third, fourth, 17th and 18th holes.

The long-hitting Boland amateur began campaigning in the Race to Q-School to prepare for golf’s most gruelling test in January and was equally pleased with his opening performance.

“I had a slow start in the Race to Q-School series but I made every cut,” said Scholtz, who tied for sixth in the fifth event at Benoni Country Club last week.

“It’s really nice to start finding my stride competing against the pros and the top Gauteng amateurs. I’d like to gain more consistency and starting well is one way of achieving that goal.”


66 – Jonathan Waschefort

68 – Armandt Scholtz (AMA), Matthew Spacey (AMA)

69 – Breyten Meyer (AMA), Rosswell Sinclair (AMA)

70 – Calvin Caldeira, Matthew Kent, Coert Groenewald, Hennie Du Plessis (AMA)

71 – Jerry Steyn, Neil Cheetham ENG, Antonio Rosado POR, Ockert Strydom, Bryn Flanagan (AMA), Simon Kruger (AMA)

72 – DK Kim KOR, Ryan Tipping, Rae Mackie, Herman Minnie, Shaun Stapleton (AMA), Mark Fraser, Andrew McLardy, Stephan Erasmus (AMA), Dwayne Coetzee, Arno Bartholoma GER, Pieter Kruger

73 – Niel Meyer, Jacques de Villiers, Jacquin Hess, Russel Franz, Francois Coetzee, Christiaan Pretorius, John McClean NIR, Arthur Horne SWZ

74 – Ruan Huysamen NAM, Danie Pretorius, Joubert Van Eeden (AMA)

75 – Ryan Gosling, Jaco Prinsloo

76 – Brett Liddle, Matthew Kiewitz (AMA), Michael Armstrong (AMA), Werner Van Niekerk

77 – Lourens Du Plessis, Andrew Carlsson (AMA), Jason Diab (AMA), Gareth Akers (AMA), Lean Boezaart, Byron Garvie, Matthew Adams (AMA), Mark Fairbank (AMA), Len Flanagan, Romano Saincic, Daniel Joubert (AMA), Matt Milligan (AMA)

78 – Wesley Horngren, Philip Geerts ITA (AMA), Burger Heckroodt (AMA), Ryan Wingrove (AMA), Sarel Boshoff (AMA), Justin Levy NED

79 – Dylan de Beer, Pieter Van der Linde (AMA), Murray Smit

80 – Francesca Cuturi

81 – Kyle Lee, Pierre Viviers

82 – Terence Boardman

83 – Shaun van Tonder, Ryan Kuhn (AMA), Mohammed Ismail (AMA)

84 – David Marks (AMA)

86 – Russell Jaques ENG (AMA)

90 – Juan Momberg (AMA)

Latest IGT Challenge Tour News